Sauce Music





imageedit_5_3949838586

Website Investments

Sauce Music

Rock Music - Rap Music - Future Music - Music Therapy

Hip Hop - New Music - Old Music - Live Music






Musical Classroom

RRP $454.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

With this Eighth Edition, The Musical Classroom celebrates thirty years as a leading resource for future and in-service teachers as they engage children in the exciting world of music! Teachers, with the help of this user-friendly text, can develop the understandings and skills needed to teach elementary school music. The forty-four model lessons are the centerpiece to the book's long-lasting success. A collection of over 170 children's songs from around the world; instructional information for learning to play the recorder, keyboard, guitar, and Autoharp(TM); and the theoretical, pedagogical, and practical backgrounds needed for reaching all learners complete the comprehensive resource of The Musical Classroom. Note: This is the standalone book, if you want the book/CD order the ISBN below: 0205763642 / 9780205763641 Musical Classroom, The: Backgrounds, Models, and Skills for Elementary Teaching with CD Package consists of 0205687458 / 9780205687459 Musical Classroom, The: Backgrounds, Models, and Skills for Elementary Teaching 0205687474 / 9780205687473 Compact Disc for Musical Classroom


Arts-based Research, Autoethnography, And Music Education

RRP $302.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

Arts-Based Research, Autoethnography, and Music Education: Singing Through a Culture of Marginalization invites readers into miroslav pavle manovski's journey into quest of how he found his voice-literally and figuratively-by reflecting and storying from his fluid identity and roles as an artist, singer, learner, music teacher, researcher... while empowering others to find their own voice. This book is also an arts-based autoethnographic rendering of the author's experience being tormented, harassed, and called "gay" as a means to negatively target and marginalize him. Further, this work contributes to the literature of those mercilessly harassed for perceived effeminate characteristics and to the canon of ways we may be able to rescue ourselves-to positively transform-from prior wreckage a part of our lives. It makes significant contributions to the literature on qualitative inquiry, arts-based research, autoethnography, music education, and vocal pedagogy as a means of re-presenting a rich tapestry of life experience. While this text can be read entirely for pleasure or personal growth, it will make an outstanding springboard for conversation in courses across the disciplines that deal with teacher education, music education, gender and sexual identity/orientation, intimacy, relationships and relational communication, prejudice, bullying and more. This award-wining book will additionally be of great value in courses on autoethnography, life writing, narrative inquiry, arts-based research, and music education. "Of all the recent examples of textual experiments in the social sciences that aim to create a dialectical intertwining of the autobiographical and the theoretical, this book is among the very best. Manovski's work is at once artful, poignant, bravely self-revelatory, while simultaneously informed by the scholarship of an impressive array of academics from diverse academic fields. What awaits the reader is nothing less than a full-fledged educational experience that dazzles the mind and stirs the heart as it opens up the future." - Tom Barone, Emeritus Professor, Arizona State University.


Towards A Twenty-first Century Feminist Politics Of Music

RRP $457.99

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

Towards a Twenty-First-Century Feminist Politics of Music opens up a new way of thinking about the absence of women's music. It does not aim to find 'a solution' in a liberal feminist sense, but to discover new potentialities, new possibilities for thought and action. Sally Macarthur encourages us, with the assistance of Deleuze, and feminist-Deleuzian work, to begin the important work of imagining what else might be possible, not in order to provide answers but to open up the as yet unknown. The power of thought - or what Deleuze calls the 'virtual' - opens up new possibilities. Macarthur suggests that the future for women's 'new' music is not tied to the predictable and known but to futures beyond the already-known. Previous research concludes that women's music is virtually absent from the concert hall, and yet fails to find a way of changing this situation. Macarthur finds that the flaw in the recommendations flowing from past research is that it envisages the future from the standpoint of the present, and it relies on a set of pre-determined goals. It thus replicates the present reality, so reinforcing rather than changing the status quo. Macarthur challenges this thinking, and argues that this repetitive way of thinking is stuck in the present, unable to move forward. Macarthur situates her argument in the context of current dominant neoliberal thought and practice. She argues that women have generally not thrived in the neoliberal model of the composer, which envisages the composer as an individual, autonomous creator and entrepreneur. Successful female composers must work with this dominant, modernist aesthetic and exploit the image of the neo-romantic, entrepreneurial creator. This book sets out in contrast to develop a new conception of subjectivity that sows the seeds of a twenty-first-century feminist politics of music.


A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Future...

RRP $19.99

In the tradition of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture comes an inspiring book of life lessons from Michael J Fox.

Michael J Fox didn't finish high school, but he has gone on to receive honorary degrees from several universities and has achieved the highest accolades for his acting, as well as his writing. In his new book, he inspires and motivates his readers to work hard, achieve the most they can and maximise their abilities - all with his trademark optimism, warmth and humour.

From moving to Los Angeles fresh from Canada, without a high school degree and learning to live on a wage; to taking on roles in Family Ties and the Back to the Future movies and nearly crashing and burning; and then learning to cope first with the death of his father and then with his own diagnosis of Parkinson's disease, MJF shares what he's learned about life, work, love, family and happiness and everything else along the way. Despite the fact that he is a high school dropout - or perhaps because of it - his life experience and humour will resonate with people of all ages, everywhere.

About The Author

Michael J Fox gained fame playing Alex P Keaton on the sitcom Family Ties. Since then, his career has been a nonstop success story, with blockbuster movies like Back to the Future, The Secret of My Success, Doc Hollywood among others aswell as an award-winning role on Spin City. Michael has won numerous awards, including four Golden Globes, four Emmys, two Screen Actors Guild awards and US GQ Man of the Year. He actively lobbies for stem cell research around the country and is very visible in raising money for Parkinson s research with the Michael J Fox Foundation. In 2006, the Michael J Fox Foundation donated $800 000 AUD to the University of Melbourne to further their research work into Parkinson s Disease.


Music Of The Raj

RRP $312.95

Click on the Google Preview image above to read some pages of this book!

Music of the Raj is a study of musical life in late eighteenth-century Anglo-Indian society, based on the unpublished correspondence of an extended network of families. The writers of these letters - amateurs with a passionate commitment to the art of music - provide a perceptive commentary on many of the major issues of the day: the stylistic change from Baroque to Galant, the replacement of the harpsichord with the pianoforte, the establishment of the musical canon, and the growing economic and cultural influence of women musicians. Among the topics discussed are the transport, tuning and maintenance of instruments, the relationship between amateur pupil and professional teacher, the conduct of the domestic musical soirée, the role of glee singing in courtship, and the musical education of children. An account is also given of the growth of an expatriate musical culture among the European inhabitants of early colonial Calcutta, and the musical tastes of major Anglo-Indian figures such as Robert Clive, Warren Hastings, and Sir William Jones are assessed. English attitudes to Indian music is an important theme, especially as manifested in the fashion for the Hindostannie airs, transcriptions of Indian melodies in European musical language. The study concludes with an examination of the musical lives of wealthy nabobs back in England, where they immersed themselves in Indian musical culture, taking the Grand Tour, supporting opera at the Kings Theatre, and employing fashionable Italian teachers for their children.



Search

Sauce Music Articles

Rock Music Rap Music Future Music Music Therapy
Hip Hop New Music Old Music Live Music

Sauce Music Books

Rock Music Rap Music Future Music Music Therapy
Hip Hop New Music Old Music Live Music

Sauce Music





imageedit_5_3949838586

Website Investments